Paris life

IMG_1326

IMG_1519

Paris. The city of light, the city of love. Many people have a glorified picture about the french capital and me included. I’ve visit the city three times as a tourist and the fourth time I lived there as a exchange student half a year… And I still don’t have enough of Paris.

Pourquoi? I’ve asked myself why I like Paris since I think there’s a lot of things that makes the city not attractive when it comes to living standards. First of all, I like when a town or city is close to water. Except the river Seine, Paris hasn’t much water to offer. I’ve never been in Paris during the summer but I can imagine it’s not that fun when it’s hot and there’s no lake you can cool yourself down in. Second of all, life in Paris is very expensive compared to what you get. Most of the flats are old and not renovated for a very long time. Cigarette smell are part of the wallpapers and you’re lucky if the hot water are working every day. Not to mention the tiny walls between you and your neighbors. You have never met them in the stairway but you know what they talk about and what they did last night. And about the restaurants… In a Parisian restaurant you pay as much as you do in Sweden (which is more than in most countries) but you get half the food on your plate. (If you ever asked yourself why the french are thin you now know why.)


So why on earth do people dream about living in Paris?! I don’t think I’m only talking about my opinion when I say that this city has the most beautiful buildings in the world. I really like the romantic balconies with flower boxes and the charming stairways with tree planks with marks where people have walked the most.

IMG_0931

The food! There are so much good food in Paris, especially the sweet things I would say. 😉 The boulangeries have daily fresh bread and colorful pastries that makes it almost impossible to pass by without buying something to eat. (Which actually question my french thin theory.)

IMG_1791

The many pretty parks that are perfect for picnics with friends or as a peaceful place when you want to read a book.

And I have to admit that even thought the apartments are the tiniest i’ve ever seen there’s something special to live in just one room with only a rooftop as your balcony.

IMG_3617

Where can you find a city that has more amazing monuments and museums? Paris is also a home for many street artists and dancers. So much fun and beautiful things to look at every day. 🙂

IMG_7986
It has been three years since last time I was in Paris and I’m sure I’ll visit my favourite city again one day. But first I have some other places to see! 😉

Last thing, the movie Amélie was one of the inspirations for my interest in Paris. If you haven’t seen it – do it! 🙂

Bisous et à bientôt! ❤

Kommentera

